The Shawshank Redemption & Redemption Blonde Ale

Hey there Drinkers,

I’m here for a shot at redemption. I know I’ve been a bit inconsistent recently but I’m finally back. After a hurricane, an apartment move and a 16 hour unpaid job, I’m back drinking Russian River’s Redemption Ale and watching Frank Darabont’s classic film The Shawshank Redemption. Arguably one of the greatest films in recent memory, it deserves to be appreciated with a “nice cold bottle of suds.”

Now I’ve seen this movie a bunch of times but I still haven’t gotten sick of it. While it’s a bit on the long side (a leisurely 2.25 hours), the pacing is perfect. It’s even, thoughtful and engaging every step of the way. Considering that this movie takes place over the course of more than 20 years, the films moves smoothly and builds its tension expertly. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are perfect and Frank Darabont’s script is spot on nearly every word. Normally I like to offer some small criticisms of a film but The Shawshank Redemption is one of those films that truly rises above the rest and will stand tall for years to come. Also, I’m just too tired after that 16 hour day to be clever right now, so just deal with it.

"Let's me show you how's it done, kid." He said in a soothing voice.

And I have to say that I was impressed with Russian River’s Redemption Ale as well. I had never heard of this beer or this brewery but it’s one that I’ll be on the look out for from now on. This blonde ale is a casual foray into Trappist-style beers (think Chimay), a beer typically brewed by monks with a uniquely flavorful profile. Like any self-respecting blonde, this beer is light and refreshing. Now I don’t say “light” too lightly (get it?). What I mean is that this beer does not weigh you down or overburden you with flavor. Rather, the almost wheaty and floral taste of this beer graces you mouth gently before fading. It’s a beer that you drink slowly and can enjoy without having to think too hard.

So that’s what I was looking for tonight. A little shot at redemption. A great movie and a good beer. I think that’s all I needed after these past few hectic days. On a personal note, I’ll be starting a new routine this week, so hopefully I’ll be more consistent now that I’ll have a regular schedule. Stay tuned and keep drinking!

Tonight’s Tasting Notes:

Redemption Blonde Ale: 
-Smooth and simple taste.
-Almost sweet, floral trappist flavor profile.
-Great for casual drinking.

The Shawshank Redemption:
-Perfect, even pacing.
-Strong writing.
-Morgan Freeman is old, wise and Black.

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “The Shawshank Redemption & Redemption Blonde Ale

  1. Shawshank Redemption is definitely a classic film! I was reluctant to see the film in the theater when it was released because I didn’t like the trailer and I didn’t like the name, and now, years later, I am kicking myself for not seeing this film on the big screen. Thankfully, I have enjoyed it over and over again on DVD.

    As far as the beer, I have only had Russian River’s Pliny The Elder and their Consecration Ale. Both were fantastic! I have seen the Redemption on the shelves but have been reluctant to cough up the cash. I’ll have to give this one a try ASAP.

    Thanks for sharing your experiences!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

Share Your Drunken Opinions

